Reading Bowl Team

Congratulations to our 2019-2020 Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl Team!  They placed 1st place in our District Competition and 2nd place in the Regional Competition! 
Way to go Tigers!!!

Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl 2020

Congratulations to our 2021-2022 Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl Team!  They placed 1st place in our District Competition!


If you are interested in being on the 2023 - 2024  Reading Bowl Team please see Mrs. Anglin in the Media Center to get started.  

A Reading Bowl permission form is available for students to fill out now. 

shirt logo          16-17 Shirt

Mrs. Helen Ruffin created a reading competition in 1986 after she served on the Georgia Book Award Nomination Committee.  Mrs. Ruffin was a dynamic and innovative Library Media Specialist who taught in DeKalb County for many years.  The reading competition grew into what is now known across Georgia as the Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl.

The Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl competition is open to 4th through 12th grade students across Georgia.  Elementary and middle school students compete with the Georgia Book Award Nominees while high school students compete with the Georgia Peach Teen Book Nominees. Both sets of book nominees change yearly.  

Robinson Elementary School began competing in the Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl during the 2014-2015 school year.  Each year students apply to be in the HRRB Book Club in August/September.  The HRRB book club meets in the RES media center once a week during lunch to discuss and answer questions about the books.  In December, the students will start competing against each other to determine which 10 students will be on the Robinson HRRB team.  The 10 students who make the RES team will compete against other Dawson County Elementary School teams to determine which team will represent Dawson County in the Regional HRRB Competition in January/February.  

2023-2024 Books

The following list will be used this year for elementary schools participating! 


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.